Dennis Yu

How Resell University pays outbound staff as Whop affiliates

Summary. Resell University, founded by Ali Albaqshi and Ricky, is a reselling community that reached seven figures in revenue on Whop with 30-plus registered affiliates, 200-plus affiliate referrals and 200-plus five-star reviews. The affiliates are its own outbound staff, paid through Whop’s affiliate system. If you run a community with anyone doing outreach, that compensation mechanism is the part to copy.

Resell University: before Whop, on Whop, after How Resell University changed the mechanism Before Needed payments, affiliate pay for outbound staff, churn view On Whop • Affiliates for outbound • Storefront listing • Reviews and ratings • Churn tracking • Checkout After Seven figures; 30+ affiliates, 200+ referrals, 200+ reviews
Mechanism diagram drawn from Whop’s write-up on Resell University; figures are Whop’s.

What Resell University was doing before Whop

The founders needed four things: payment processing, infrastructure that would scale, an affiliate model to reward the outbound staff bringing in members, and a way to monitor churn.

Whop’s write-up does not state where Resell University is based, what it used before, or its revenue at the time it moved. It is dated March 15, 2023.

What changed on Whop

Resell University runs on Whop’s checkout and storefront, with affiliates, churn tracking and reviews on top. The affiliate program is the mechanism: outbound staff register as affiliates and are paid on the members they bring in.

The founders say so directly: “The platform is exciting, and with Whop, we can run an affiliate model to reward our outbound staff for getting more members into the group.”

The marketplace listing adds discovery. The founders again: “Whop is a platform that can amplify our growth and put our name in front of millions of people looking to explore digital products.”

Reviews sit on the listing, so 200-plus five-star reviews are what a prospect sees before paying. Churn tracking tells the founders who left and when.

The numbers

Seven-figure revenue. 180,000-plus Instagram followers. Ranked 14th on Whop’s top charts. 30-plus registered affiliates and 200-plus affiliate referrals. 200-plus five-star reviews on Whop.

That is roughly 7 referrals per affiliate, my arithmetic. The write-up does not state the price of membership, the affiliate commission rate, member count, or churn. Seven figures is a range, not a number.

What I would tell a community owner to copy

Pay your salespeople as affiliates. Built-in affiliate tracking turns outreach into a commission with a receipt: the link tells you who brought whom, and Whop pays them. That is cleaner than a spreadsheet at month end, and it scales to 30 people without a sales manager.

Collect reviews on the listing, not just on your site. 200 five-star reviews where the checkout is beats 200 on a page nobody reaches. Ask at the moment of a member win, and ask by name.

Track churn from day one. The founders asked for churn monitoring before they scaled, which is the right order. Google Analytics 4, Tag Manager and Search Console with a conversion event on the join, and a cancellation reason on every exit.

Then one canonical page for the program, with member results by name and date, and Dollar-a-Day boosts behind the Instagram posts that already got saves and shares without spend. With 180,000 followers, the winners are already visible.

Who this is not for

Whop is a checkout, financing, affiliate and storefront layer, not an accounting or field-service app, and affiliates only pay out if the offer converts on its own. The base rate is 2.7% + 30¢, 20 basis points under Stripe’s 2.9% + 30¢; the optional layers, managed tax at 2%, orchestration at 0.8% and billing at 0.5%, can push the stack above Stripe. Financing requires $30,000 processed from 10 or more customers in 90 days and a dispute rate under 2%, and is unavailable to gambling, sports betting, trading signals, credit offers and adult categories; this story does not involve financing.

If you were going to use Whop anyway

If you were going to sign up for Whop anyway, sign up through my link, dennisyu.com/go/whop, or send me your business name and email and I will submit the referral. Whop pays me a share of its profit on your account; your rate is the same 2.7% + 30¢ either way. In return my team at Local Service Spotlight sets up the AI agents that audit your public reputation, fix what they find, and keep it maintained: a personal brand analysis, Google Analytics 4, Tag Manager and Search Console with conversion events that actually fire, a Content Factory that turns one recording into a definitive article, clips and posts, and a weekly Metrics, Analysis, Action report. That is the work we normally charge community and membership businesses for.

Source and disclosure

This story is retold from Whop’s own write-up, Resell University scales to a 7-figure business using Whop affiliates, reviews, and infrastructure. (2023-03-15, modified 2026-01-09), which you should read in full. I am a Whop partner and earn a share of Whop’s profit from businesses that sign up through my link. Whop did not pay for or review this article. See Whop for paid communities for the other community and membership stories and my full notes on what Whop costs, and my main Whop page for the partner program.



Scroll to Top